GEST 2021 Focus Day

Prostate Artery Embolization

Saturday, March 6, 2021

Course Organizers:
--Dr. Jafar Golzarian - University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN)
--Dr. Marc Sapoval - University of Paris/Hôpital Européen Georges Pompidou (Paris, FR)
--Dr. Tiago Bilhim - Nova Medical School, Universidade Nova de Lisboa (Lisbon, Portugal)
--Dr. Shivank Bhatia - University of Miami (Miami, FL)
--Dr. Shamar Young - University of Minnesota (Minneapolis, MN)
--Dr. Erik Cressman - M.D. Anderson Cancer Center (Houston, TX)

Session I: Basics of BPH and Work Up for PAE

8:30 - 10:00am CST (Chicago) / 3:30 - 5:00pm CET (Paris) / 10:30pm - 12:00am SGT (Singapore)

Moderators: Shivank Bhatia, Justin McWilliams

Time
Title
Speaker
8:30-8:36am
Intro/Welcome
Drs. Jafar Golzarian, Marc Sapoval
8:36-8:45am
BPH-LUTS Syndrome: All You Need to Know
Dr. Justin McWilliams
8:45-8:54am
Review of Medical and Surgical Treatments of BPH
Dr. Michael Borofsky
8:54-9:03am
Rezum and Urolift: PAE Challengers??
Dr. Bruce Kava
9:03-9:12am
Pre-Procedure Work Up for PAE: Aligning with Urology Work Up
Dr. Theresa Caridi
9:12-9:21am
MRA versus CTA before PAE - OR No Imaging
Dr. Nuno Vasco Costa
9:21-9:30am
Ideal PAE Candidate
Dr. Art Rastinehad
9:30-10:00am
Panel Discussion with Speakers

Session II: PAE - Technique Essentials

10:30am - 12:00pm CST (Chicago) / 5:30 - 7:00pm CET (Paris) / 12:30 - 2:00am SGT (Singapore)

Moderators: Tiago Bilhim, Marc Sapoval

Time
Title
Speaker
10:30-10:39am
Prostate Arterial Anatomy and Collaterals: Essentials
Dr. John DeMeritt
10:39-10:48am
Technical Pearls: How I Do It
Dr. Ari Isaacson
10:48-10:57am
Dealing with Dangerous Anastomosis
Dr. Marc Sapoval
10:57-11:06am
Finding the Ideal Embolic Agent and Size for PAE
Dr. Clare Bent
11:06-11:15am
Steerable, Balloon-Occlusion, Reflux Reduction Microcatheters
Dr. Raj Ayyagari
11:15-11:19am
Debate: Why I Am a Fan of Radial Approach
Dr. Aaron Fischman
11:19-11:23am
Debate: I'm a Femoralist
Dr. Gary Siskin
11:23-11:32am
CBCT and Combined Angio/CT Suite for PAE
Dr. Jafar Golzarian
11:32am-12:00pm
Panel Discussion with Speakers

Session III: PAE, All the Rest

1:00 - 2:30pm CST (Chicago) / 8:00 - 9:30pm CET (Paris) / 3:00 - 4:30am SGT (Singapore)

Moderators: Clare Bent, Francisco Carnevale

Time
Title
Speaker
1:00-1:09pm
Managing Post Procedure Symptoms and Complications
Dr. Shivank Bhatia
1:09-1:18pm
Technical Success... but... Clinical Failure
Dr. Tiago Bilhim
1:18-1:27pm
How to Decide for Repeat PAE vs Surgery
Dr. Francisco Carnevale
1:27-1:36pm
Case Presentation: My Worst Nightmare
Dr. Karim El Tawab
1:36-1:45pm
Case Presentation: My Worst Nightmare
Dr. Simon Yu
1:45-1:54pm
Economics of PAE: Practice Building and Reimbursement
Dr. Charles Nutting
1:54-2:30pm
Panel Discussion with Speakers and Dr. Marc Sapoval

Session IV: Level of Evidence and Future Research

3:00 - 4:30pm CST (Chicago) / 10:00 - 11:30pm CET (Paris) / 5:00 - 6:30am SGT (Singapore)

Moderators: Jafar Golzarian, Shamar Young

Time
Title
Speaker
3:00-3:09pm
Most Important PAE Articles Published in the Last Two Years
Dr. Mark Little
3:09-3:18pm
Objective Grading of Evidence: Why It Matters and How It Applies to PAE
Dr. Phillip Dahm
3:18-3:27pm
Strengths of PAE Evidence, an IR's Perspective
Dr. Riad Salem
3:27-3:36pm
Critical Evaluation of Weaknesses of Current PAE Evidence, A Urologist Perspective.
Dr. John Kellogg Parsons
3:36-3:45pm
Critical Evaluation of Non-PAE Minimally Invasive BPH Treatments: Do AUA Guidelines Make Sense?
Dr. Jim Spies
3:45-3:54pm
Review of Societal Recommendations and Hints to the Reasons for Discrepancies.
Dr. Dominik Abt
3:54-4:30pm
Panel Discussion with Speakers, Drs. Tiago Bilhim and Art Rastinehad

Accreditation Statement
In support of improving patient care, this activity has been planned and implemented by Amedco LLC and Global Embolization Symposium & Technologies. Amedco LLC is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

Physicians (ACCME)
Amedco LLC designates this live activity for a maximum of 6.0 AMA PRA Category 1 CreditsTM. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

 

Sign in with your email and password

Need an account? Sign up